Full List of Big Island Primary Election Results – Big Island Now

Big Island Now file photo.

Correction: This article has been updated to reflect a mistake in reporting. Hawaii County Council races in District 1 and District 5 will be decided by runoffs, as the leading candidates did not garner 50% of the Primary Election Vote.

The results are in, Big Island Mayor Harry Kim is out, and some new faces will occupy familiar offices for the upcoming term.

Hawaii voted Saturday or several days before via mail-in balloting, the states first such endeavor for statewide and county offices in the 2020 Primary Elections.

Former Big Island State Senator Kai Kahele (Democrat) will face Michelle Rose Tippins (Libertarian), Ron Burrus (Nonpartisan), and John Giuffre (American Shopping) in Novembers General Election, with the winner assuming Tulsi Gabbards District 2 seat in the US House of Representatives.

Former Hawaii County Prosecuting Attorney Mitch Roth will square off against community activist Ikaika Marzo in what could prove a close race after the two separated themselves from a large pack of candidates Saturday evening. Roth took 31.1% of the vote with 20,225 ballots cast in his favor, while Marzo claimed 21.2% of the vote with 13,764 ballots submitted for him. Three-time and current Mayor Harry Kim finished third with 15.4% of the vote.

The following is a list of primaries and county offices that were up for grabs Saturday and the names of those who claimed them:

State Senate

State House of Representatives

Hawaii County Prosecuting Attorney

Hawaii County Council Winners

Continue reading here:

Full List of Big Island Primary Election Results - Big Island Now

Related Post

Comments are closed.