Young Knives announce first new album in seven years ‘Barbarians’ – DIY Magazine

Announcing their first full-length album since 2013s Sick Octave, Young Knives will release their fifth album Barbarians on 4th September.

As with every Young Knives album, me and House always need a good reason to make it, Henry explains. We often start with some high concept that we feel passionate about and use it like a framework to build lyrics and motifs around. As confirmed but self-aware nihilistic miserabilists we often have to dig our way out of a spiralling bleak world view that would make for a super depressing listen. This album is no different. But I think thats the point of the records we make: how can we turn the worse aspects of humanity into something really fucking entertaining? Obviously there was a lot going on around the world at the time we were writing the record, with the rise of the alt-right and politics designed to divide us. All this fed into a sense that humans are always going to have this battle between our collective existence and the existence of the individual, some days we give and some days we take.

I read Straw Dogs [2002 book by philosopher John Gray] after having put it off for years because of the hype. Its something you cant un-read. Its key point is that no matter what scientific progress we have made, what advances we have made in our understanding of how the universe works, we have not become better humans, we are no less barbaric. I just thought that it was such an undeniable point; we are obsessed with self and social improvement, but we dont get any better as human beings. What if cruelty to others is just part of who we are? How do we live with that?

Sharing raucous lead track Sheep Tick, accompanied by a weird AF video, Henry adds, Music videos are awful and we wanted to lean into that. The idea behind this one was to make a video that you couldnt have pitched. We just started shooting without knowing what it was, our goal to make it as baffling and entertaining as possible. Weirdly, the great thing is that some of the video started to make sense with the song after we had finished it: Houses goblin character is the voice inside that tells you how worthless you are, and you have to make peace with him. Most of it doesnt make any sense though.

Check it out below.

'Barbarians' Tracklisting:

1. Swarm

2. Society for Cutting Up Men

3. Jenny Haniver

4. Red Cherries

5. I Am Awake

6. Holy Name 68

7. Barbarians

8. Sheep Tick

9. Only a God

10. What I Saw

See the rest here:

Young Knives announce first new album in seven years 'Barbarians' - DIY Magazine

Related Post

Comments are closed.