President Faure chairs high-level meeting on the resumption of commercial flights to Seychelles – Office of the President of the Republic of…

Posted: October 12, 2020 at 8:09 am

06 October 2020 |

President Danny Faure chaired a seventh meeting of the high-level forum leading the implementation of the National Integrated Framework for the Reopening of Seychelles at the STC Conference room this morning.

The Public Health Commissioner, Dr Jude Gedeon, shared an overview of the global situation and the local context with regards to COVID-19 to date, explaining that the pandemic is still expanding globally. In Seychelles, he confirmed that there are currently 5 active cases.

This was followed by report from the SHTAs Chairperson, Mrs Sybille Cardon, updates from the SCCI, SIFCO, CEPS and SCAA. The Principal Secretary for Civil Aviation, Ports and Marine, Mr Alan Renaud, gave a brief on the new visitor management platform; the Travizory technology that enables authorities to run rapid and efficient vetting procedures on information provided by incoming travellers in a bid to minimise the risk of COVID-19 transmission.

There were also updates from the Department of Tourism and Seychelles Tourism Board on the number of tourism establishments certified as well as on the forecast of expected flights, marketing, and tourism arrivals in Seychelles. The Chairperson of the Task Force Committee and Minister for Tourism, Civil Aviation, Ports and Marine, Mr Didier Dogley, also provided an update on the committees work over the last two weeks.

Members discussed lengthily on the travel advisory for visitors from permitted countries and the procedures that have been divided into 2 categories: Category 1 includes permitted countries considered low and medium risk and Category 2 includes Special Status. In an effort to provide more confidence to tourism partners in key source market countries, authorities in Seychelles have decided to provide Special Status to seven countries: United Kingdom, France, Germany, Italy, Switzerland, Austria and the United Arab Emirates. Out of these seven, three countries have now been categorised as high-risk countries: UAE, France and the United Kingdom. Members also discussed the need to operationalise the stay safe hotel whereby a tourist that tests positive for COVID-19 can stay in a beautiful and secure environment.

The forum reiterated the importance for local citizens to observe the public health guidelines in place.

The next meeting will take place on 20 October 2020 under the chairmanship of one of the high-level forum members.

Present for the meeting this morning wasthe Minister of Finance, Trade, Investment and Economic Planning, Amb. Maurice Loustau-Lalanne,the Minister for Tourism, Civil Aviation, Ports and Marine, Mr Didier Dogley,the Minister Fisheries and Agriculture, Mr Charles Bastienne,Minister for Employment, Immigration and Civil Status, Mrs Miriam Tlmaque, Secretary of State for Health, Ambassador Marie-Pierre Lloyd, Special Advisor to MFTIEP, Mrs Sitna Cesar, the Commissioner of Police, Mr Kishnan Labont, Principal Secretary Economic Planning, Mrs Elizabeth Agathine, Principal Secretary Health, Dr Bernard Valentin, Special Advisor Health, Dr Loren Reginald, Chairman Public Health Authority, Dr Conrad Shamlaye, CEO of the Healthcare Agency, Dr Danny Louange, the Public Health Commissioner, Dr Jude Gdon, Principal Secretary for the Department of Immigration and Civil Status, Mr Alain Volcere, Principal Secretary for Risk and Disaster Management, Mr Paul Labaleine, the Special Advisor for Employment, Ms Veronique Bresson, Special Advisor Immigration and Civil Status, Mr Michel Marie, CEO for SETS, Mr Guy Morel, Chief Policy Analyst, Employment, Ms Susan Morel, Director General for Employment Promotion, Mrs Letimie Dookley, Chief Immigration Officer, Mr Michel Elisabeth, Principal Secretary Tourism Department, Mrs Anne Lafortune, CEO for the Seychelles Tourism Board, Mrs Sherin Francis, Principal Secretary for Civil Aviation, Ports & Marine, Mr Alan Renaud, Principal Secretary for Local Government, Mrs Marie-Celine Vidot-Jeannevol, Deputy Governor of the Central of Seychelles, Mr Christopher Edmond, the Chairperson of SCCI, Mr Oliver Bastienne, Secretary General SCCI, Mrs Iouana Pillay, Health Coordinator for Faith Based Organisation, Dr Anne Gabriel, representative of SIFCO, Mrs Marion Gendron, the Chairperson of SHTA, Mrs Sybille Cardon, the Secretary-General of SFWU, Mr Antoine Robinson, representatives of the La Digue Business Association, Mr Jos St Ange, Chairperson of CEPS, Mr Jude Fred, member of CEPS, Dr Nirmal Jivan Shah and CEO CEPS, Mr Michel Pierre.

Visit link:

President Faure chairs high-level meeting on the resumption of commercial flights to Seychelles - Office of the President of the Republic of...

Related Post